Troubled Waters

Serie 

Serie

Dewey Lambdin

Abenteuer & Western

Bisher keine Bewertungen
0.0

+ Merken

Entdecke diesen und 300.000 weitere Titel mit der Flatrate von Skoobe. Ab 11,99 € im Monat.

Beschreibung zu „Troubled Waters“

The fourteenth tale in Dewey Lambdin’s stirring classic naval adventure series.

Spring of 1800 and Captain Alan Lewrie, fresh from victory in the South Atlantic, is reckoned a hero on a par with Nelson in all the papers. Back in England he is fitting out

his new frigate, HMS Savage, the largest and best armed frigate he’s ever commanded. But you can’t leave Lewrie ashore too long without trouble arising.

A Jamaican court has tried him in absentia and sentenced him to hang for the theft of a dozen slaves to man his old ship HMS Proteus. A crime, or was it liberation, as his London barrister argues? The vengeful slave owner Hugh Beauman has come to London to seek Lewrie’s end, with or without the majesty of the Law!

Then there’s the matter of those anonymous letters sent to his wife Caroline, serving up the most florid lies… along with some unfortunately florid truths. Lewrie appeals to the retired FO spy, Zachariah

Twigg, to ‘smoak out’ the had that guides the poison pen, even while wondering while Twigg seems so eager to help his legal case of a sudden. Is the devious old devil ready to sacrifice him for some motive of his own?

Troubled Waters, book fourteen in The Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures, is perfect for fans of David McDine, Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O’Brian.

‘You could get addicted to this series. Easily.’ New York Times Book Review

‘The best naval series since C. S. Forester . . . Recommended.’ Library Journal

‘Fast-moving. . . A hugely likeable hero, a huge cast of sharply drawn supporting characters: there's nothing missing. Wonderful stuff.’ Kirkus Reviews


Verlag:

Canelo Adventure

Veröffentlicht:

2019

Druckseiten:

ca. 357

Sprache:

English

Medientyp:

eBook


Serie 

Weitere Titel aus der Serie

Sieh Dir alle Titel der Serie an

Ähnliche Titel wie „Troubled Waters“

Netzsieger testet Skoobe